It is directed by a President elected by an absolute majority of the members of the Board of Directors. His 4-year mandate is renewable once (article L 712-2 of the Education Code).

The President, through his decisions, the Board of Directors, through its deliberations, and the Academic Council, composed of the Research Commission and the Training and University Life Commission, through its deliberations and opinions, ensure the administration of the University.

It is organised in such a way as to contribute, alongside the other structures of higher education, to the development of research and the raising of the scientific, cultural and professional level of the nation and of individuals.

The University has components (structures grouping together training departments and laboratories or research centres), common or central services ensuring the administrative and technical functioning of the University.