Headed by a President and governed by three central councils, the University is organized in such a way as to contribute, along with the other structures of higher education, to the development of research and the raising of the scientific, cultural and professional level of the Nation and of individuals.

The University has components (structures grouping together training departments and laboratories or research centres), common or central services ensuring the administrative and technical functioning of the University.

The President

The University is headed by a President elected by an absolute majority of the elected members of the Board of Directors. The President's term of office lasts four years and is renewable once.
The President is assisted by three Vice-Presidents elected within their respective commissions or councils (Board of Directors, Research Commission and Training and University Life Commission).

He has authority over all the staff of the University.
He is the authorizing officer for expenditures and revenues.
He is responsible for maintaining order and represents the University to the outside world.

The presidents of Avignon University:

  • Philippe Ellerkamp (2015- )
  • Emmanuel Ethis (2007-2015)
  • Michel Volle (2002-2007)
  • Henri Méloni (1997-2002)
  • Bernard Blavoux (1992-1997)
  • Françoise Pécaut (1988-1992)
  • Guy Cheymol (1984-1988)

The Vice-Presidents

The President's team is composed of:

  • Vice-president of the Board of Directors in charge of the Board of Directors: Samuel Priso-Essawe
  • Vice-president of the Board of Directors in charge of the Research Committee: Georges Linarès
  • Vice-president of the Board of Directors in charge of the Studies and Campus Life Committee: Ange Polidori
  • Vice-president in charge of Campus Life: Audrey Abonnen
  • Vice-president in charge of International Relations: Anne-Sylvie Tixier
  • Vice-president in charge of Economic Development and Enhancement: Philippe Obert
  • Vice-president in charge of Digital and Pedagogical Innovation, and Head of the MAPUI: Thierry Spriet
  • Vice-president in charge of Professional Integration and Operational Director of the CMQ 3A: Pascal Laurant

The Policy Officers

The Director General of Services

Under the authority of the President, the Director General of Services performs the functions of Director General of Administrative Services. He assists the President in all circumstances of the administrative life of the establishment. To this end, he has a general delegation of signature.

The Director General of Services in office is Fathie Boubertekh.

The Accounting Officer

The University has an accounting officer who is a public accountant in charge, in all independence, of the collection of the receipts, the payment of the expenditure, the guard and the conservation of the values and funds of the establishment, the handling of the funds and the movements of account and the holding of the accountancy post.

The accounting officer in charge is Claude Guintoli.

Date of update May 25, 2021